top of page
Search
Writer's pictureTHE LUMINARY

The Importance of Play for Life-skills Development

Updated: Jun 2, 2020



“Let’s go play!” One of my childhood friend asked me, and we both know what it meant.


I am really glad that I grew up during the times when play meant the greater outdoors- at the bare land fields of the province during the summer or the hard concrete streets of the city that I grew up in.


Having existed for more than 2 decades already, I could say that what I am now is because of the play that I did during my childhood years. I can’t believe that I’m saying this, but at this point in my life, I could cite what my grandparents always say, “that indeed, times have changed.”



Outdoor gross movement play provides lots of experience that helps improve the development of one’s cognitive, socio-emotional and movement skills that would eventually help one succeed later on in life, in whatever job or field we choose to be in.



Sensations- be it the feel of the sand, or bare concrete on the soles of your feet, that feeling that your muscles get upon jumping from a greater height, that adrenaline boosting swoosh when you go up and down the slide and even that belly-churning feeling you get upon going up and down the see-saw, all helps your child’s brain develop in order to make sense of the world.


Sensation is brain food. The brain is capable of so much change especially in the first 7 years of life. Don’t waste this time in front of the screens, childhood happens only once. So, make the most out of it for your child.


Stop reading this and go outside to play!


Let’s exchange ideas to improve better. I would love to read your thoughts about this one. Post on the comment section below

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page